

4.2 Introduction to Pacific Collections: Out of Date & Alternative Geographical Names













Historical and alternative names of locations in the Pacific

Current name	Previous names
(Republic of) Kiribati	- Gilbert Islands
	- Kingsmill Islands
Vanuatu	New Hebrides
Efate, Vanuatu	- Vate
	- Sandwich Island
Hawaiian Islands	Sandwich Islands
(Kingdom of) Tonga	Friendly Islands
Samoa	Navigator Islands
Rapa Nui	Easter Island*
Nauru	Pleasant Island
Niue	Savage Islands
Cook Islands	Hervey Islands
Tahiti	Otaheite**
Tuamotu Archipelago	Paumotu Archipelago
Tokelau	Union Islands
Tuvalu	Ellice Islands
Kaniet Islands, Bismarck Archipelago	Anchorite Islands, Bismarck Archipelago
Papua and West Papua, Indonesia	- Irian Jaya
	- Dutch New Guinea
Papua New Guinea	- British New Guinea
	- Mandated New Guinea
	- Keiserwillheims land
Torres Islands, Vanuatu	Vava
North Solomon Islands, Papua New	Bougainville Autonomous Region, Papua New
Guinea	Guinea
Kosrae Island, Federated States of	- Kusaie
Micronesia	- Ualan
Pohnpei Island, Federated States of	Ponape Island
Micronesia	
Chuuk Lagoon, Federated States of	Truk Lagoon
Micronesia	
(Republic of) Palau	- Pelew
	- Belau
Sonsorol Island, Palau	St Andrews Island
Banaba Island, Republic of Kiribati	Ocean Island
Wuvulu Island	- Maty Island
	- Matty Island
	- Tiger Island
Admiralty Islands	Manus Islands*

^{*}This name is an alternative as opposed to a name no longer used

^{**}This term is sometimes used historically for Hawaiian material

Some of the islands which are politically part of Papua New Guinea:

- New Britain
- New Ireland
- Hermit Islands
- Wuvulu
- Kaniet Islands
- Bougainville
- Trobriand Islands
- D'Entrecasteaux islands
- Admiralty Islands

Countries which form the Caroline Islands chain:

- Federated States of Micronesia (including Yap, Pohnpei, Chuuk, Kosrae)
- Palau