Skip Navigation or Skip to Content
The Board of Trustees is National Museums Scotland’s governing body.

The Board is responsible for setting the National Museums Scotland’s strategic direction and for monitoring progress to achieve this. The management team is fully responsible for the day-to-day operation of the National Museums Scotland and for the implementation of strategy. The Board and management team work closely together in their different roles.

National Museums Scotland is a public body, and the Board is accountable to Scottish Ministers and the Scottish Parliament.

Trustees have a Code of Conduct which is on this website. Biographies of Trustees, Board minutes and Trustees’ registered interests are also posted on this website. Previous years' minutes can be viewed in the Trustees minutes archive.

Trustees bring to the National Museums Scotland a wide range of skills, backgrounds and experience in academic life, business, media, technology, education and community involvement. Individually they bring not only this experience, but also many different perspectives on how the National Museums Scotland can best serve the public.

Trustees also have a vital role to act as ambassadors for National Museums Scotland, both in gathering support for large projects and, equally importantly, in ensuring the widest possible understanding of National Museums Scotland’s collections and its services (locally, nationally and internationally).

National Museums Scotland can have up to 15 Trustees, who are all appointed by the Minister for Culture, Tourism & External Affairs. They are normally appointed for a term of four years, and may serve for a second term. Trustees are appointed through an open process where posts are advertised and candidates are interviewed. 

Our trustees

Ian Russell

Ian Russell CBE - Chairman

More info

Ann Allen

Ann Allen, MBE - Trustee

More info

Professor Mary Bownes

Professor Mary Bownes, OBE, FRSE - Trustee

More info

Motaram Mimi Brophy

Motaram Mimi Brophy - Trustee

More info

Adam Bruce

Adam Bruce - Trustee

More info

Graeme Gibson

Graeme Gibson - Trustee

More info

Dr Brian Lang

Dr Brian Lang, CBE, FRSE - Trustee

More info

Lynda Logan

Lynda Logan - Trustee

More info

Dr Catriona Macdonald

Dr Catriona M.M. Macdonald - Trustee

More info

Janet Stevenson

Janet Stevenson - Trustee

More info

Professor Ian Wall

Professor Ian Wall, FRSE - Trustee

More info

Eilidh Wiseman

Eilidh Wiseman - Trustee

More info

Dr Laura Young

Dr Laura Young, MBE - Trustee

More info
Back to top