Coming soon Event National Museum of Scotland

Free Fringe Music

3 Aug - 25 Aug 2019
14:05–14:50

Grand Gallery

Free, drop-in

Experience the joy of live music every day at the museum with some of Scotland’s best emerging musicians.


Time

Performances start at 14:05 and last around 40 minutes. 

To accompany our Wild and Majestic exhibition, some of Scotland’s best-emerging musicians will perform traditional Scottish songs, classical pieces and instrumental sets.

Robyn Stapleton and Claire Hastings

On Friday 9 and 16 August musicians will perform classical Japanese and Chinese songs, to celebrate the opening of our new World Cultures galleries.

New Exploring East Asia gallery at the National Museum of Scotland. 

Date

Performance

Sat 3 Aug

Robyn Stapleton and Claire Hastings

Traditional Scottish song duo

Sun 4 Aug

Aves O'May

Fiddle and clarsach duo

Mon 5 Aug

Ryan Young and David Foley

Fiddle and guitar duo

Tue 6 Aug

Prismatic Winds

Wind quintet 

Wed 7 Aug

Sirocco Winds  

Flute, clarinet and bassoon trio

Thu 8 Aug

Catherine Tinney and Calum Morrison

Voice and guitar duo

Fri 9 Aug

Tomoko Kinuta

Japanese flutes

Sat 10 Aug 

Graham Rorie and Seán Gray

Fiddle and guitar duo

Sun 11 Aug 

Siannie Moodie 

Clarsach and song

Mon 12 Aug

Voice and Verse 

Soprano and piano duo

Tue 13 Aug

Sarah Markey Trio

Flute, bodhran and guitar

Wed 14 Aug 

Ainsley Hamill and Alistair Paterson 

Gaelic song and piano

Thu 15 Aug 

Niamh MacKaveney Trio 

Voice, fiddle and guitar trio

Fri 16 Aug 

Zi Lan Liao 

Chinese harp 

Sat 17 Aug 

Ainsley Hamill and Alistair Paterson

Gaelic song and piano

Sun 18 Aug 

Eddie Seaman and Jean Damei

Bagpipes and guitar duo

Mon 19 Aug 

Alla Voce Duo  

Mezzo-soprano and piano duo

Tues 20 Aug 

Josie Duncan and Owen Sinclair 

Song, clarsach and guitar duo

Wed 21 Aug 

Ross Wilson 

Classical guitar 

Thu 22 Aug 

Hannah Rarity and Luc McNally 

Folk song and guitar  

Fri 23 Aug 

Siannie Moodie 

Clarsach and song

Sat 24 Aug 

Robyn Stapleton and Claire Hastings 

Traditional Scottish song duo

Sun 25 Aug 

Robbie Greig and Hamish Macleod

Fiddle and guitar duo

Getting here

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street
Edinburgh
EH1 1JF

 

Map and directions

Access

We want everyone who comes to our museums to enjoy their time with us and make the most of their visit. 

 

  • There will be some seating for this event, which will be available on a first come, first served basis. 
  • There is level access to the Museum via the main doors to the Entrance Hall on Chambers Street and the Tower entrance at the corner of Chambers Street and George IV Bridge. 
  • Lifts are available to all floors.
  • Accessible toilets are available on most floors, as well as a Changing Places (U) toilet in the Entrance Hall on Level 0.
  • Guide dogs, hearing dogs and other recognised assistance dogs are admitted.

Find out more about our access information.

In partnership with Live Music Now Scotland

#FreeFringeMusic 

Share your highlights on social media.

Explore more


Museum Late: Fringe Fridays

Enjoy a unique flavour of the Fringe and explore our galleries after hours across three exhilarating nights, each with handpicked performers, comedy, music, bars and entry to our summer exhibition, Wild and Majestic.
More


Wild and Majestic: Romantic Visions of Scotland

Dramatic highland landscapes, heroic histories, tartan and bagpipes are among the defining images of Scotland for many people around the world today. This exhibition considers the origins of these ideas and explores how they were used to represent Scotland around the world.
More

Feature
New Ancient Egypt, East Asia and Ceramics galleries

Our new Ancient Egypt, East Asia and Ceramics galleries are now open!
More
Back to top