Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Meet the team

Meet our curators and staff

Looking for someone? You'll find our staff listed by Collections area below. For general enquiries contact Marianne Spence, Departmental Administrator, on the number or email below.

Email icon Science and Technology department

Dr Rebekah Higgitt

Acting Keeper of Science and Technology

Dr Rebekah Higgitt is head of the Department of Science and Technology. She is responsible for the department, its staff, collections and projects. Her research interests lie in the history of science 1600-1900, the cultural and social history of science and technology, and scientific instrument makers.
Read more

Science

Dr Rebekah Higgitt
Principal Curator of Science, Acting Keeper of Science and Technology

Specific responsibility: Science collections, including astronomy, navigation, lighthouses, cartography, surveying, metrology, meteorology and oceanography.

Research interest/expertise: History of science 1600-1900; cultural and social history of science and technology; scientific instrument makers.

E: r.higgitt@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Tacye Phillipson
Senior Curator of Science

Specific responsibility: Science collections.

Research interest/expertise: Physical sciences and modern science.

E: t.phillipson@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Sophie Goggins
Senior Curator of Biomedical Science

Specific responsibility: Senior Curator of Biomedical Science.

Research interest/expertise: Contemporary collecting in biomedicine, patient experience, and prosthetics.

E: s.goggins@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Julie Gibb
Assistant Curator of Science

Specific responsibility: Curatorial support for science collections.

Research interest/expertise: History of Science collections.

E: j.gibb@nms.ac.uk

Technology

Dr Meredith Greiling
Principal Curator of Technology

Specific responsibility: Aviation, Road, Rail and Maritime transport.

Research interest/expertise: Scottish maritime history, in particular shipbuilding, shipmaster societies and offshore industries.

E: m.greiling@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Ellie Swinbank
Curator of Technology

Specific responsibility: Technology Collections.

Research interest/expertise: Social and environmental impact of industry and technology.

E: e.swinbank@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Ian Brown
Assistant Curator of Aviation

Specific responsibility: Curatorial support for Aviation collections.

Research interest/expertise: History of radar, Scottish military aviation.

E: i.brown@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Alan Mills
Assistant Curator of Communications

Specific responsibility: Curatorial support for Communications collections.

Research interest/expertise: History of TV, radio and audio collections in relation to Scotland, Scottish inventors and innovators.

E: a.mills@nms.ac.uk

Katarina Grant
Assistant Curator of Technology

Specific responsibility: Curatorial support for technology collections.

Research interest/expertise: Materials collection.

E: k.grant@nms.ac.uk

Research Associates

Dr Alison Morrison-Low
Research Associate

Alison Morrison-Low is a Research Associate.

E: a.morrison-low@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Geoffrey N. Swinney
Research Associate

Dr Geoffrey N. Swinney is a Research Associate.

E: g.swinney@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Louise Innes
Research Associate

Louise Innes is a Research Associate.

E: l.innes@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr Jim Gledhill
Research Fellow, Materialising the Cold War

E: j.gledhill@nms.ac.uk

Read more

Sarah Middle
Postdoctoral Researcher on the Tools of Knowledge project

E: s.middle@nms.ac.uk

PhD Students

Kate Bowell
PhD student based at NMS and the University of Edinburgh

Project title: Science on Display: the Historical Relationships between Exhibit Label Texts, Scientific Objects, and Technologies at National Museums Scotland

Read more about the project

Sarah Harper
AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Partnership student based at NMS and the University of Stirling

Project title: Bombers, Bunkers and Badges: Materialising the Cold War in Scotland

Read more about the project

James Inglis
AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Partnership student based at NMS and the University of St Andrews

Project title: Typewriters and Commerce in Scotland, 1870s to 1920s

Read more about the project

Louis Volkmer
AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Partnership student based at NMS and the University of Edinburgh

Project title: Intellectual Properties: Transferring Science from Universities to National Museums Scotland

Find out more

Back to top