Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Executive Team

The Director and Executive Team make up the top management tier of National Museums Scotland. The management team is fully responsible for day-to-day operations and for the implementation of strategy.

Executive Team

Dr Chris Breward
Director of National Museums Scotland

The Director has overall responsibility for implementing the policy and objectives of the Board of Trustees, and for leadership to staff and volunteers.

E: c.breward@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4260

Personal Assistant to Director and Office Manager: Wendy Hamilton
E: w.hamilton@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4263

Dr Sam Alberti
Director of Collections

The Director of Collections is responsible for curatorial departments, research policy and programmes, collections management and conservation.

E: s.alberti@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4415

Directors' Secretary Evelyn Kochaj
E: e.kochaj@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4150

Julie Brown
Head of Corporate Policy and Performance

The Head of Corporate Policy and Performance provides an integrated approach to policy development, planning and performance management and reporting across National Museums Scotland.

E: j.brown@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4272

Directors' Secretary: Netta Rough
E: n.rough@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4343

Ruth Gill
Director of Public Programmes

The Director of Public Programmes is responsible for content development and programming, which includes Exhibitions, Design, Displays, Technical Services and Learning & Engagement.

E: r.gill@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4295

Directors' Secretary: Jackie Forsyth
E: j.forsyth@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4104

Helen Ireland
Director of External Relations

The Director of External Relations is responsible for Marketing and Communications, Digital Media, Fundraising and our National and International Programmes.

E: H.Ireland@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4332

Directors' Secretary: Angela Whitehead
E: a.whitehead@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4431

Keith Pentland
Director of Finance, Planning & ICT

The Director of Finance, Planning & ICT is responsible for the Finance Department, Information Knowledge Management, ICT and the Corporate Policy & Performance Department.

E: k.pentland@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4290

Directors' Secretary: Netta Rough
E: n.rough@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4343

Lynn Smith
Director of People

The Director of People is responsible for HR corporate strategy, workplace planning and Organisational Development, Training and Development, Health and Safety, and Volunteers.

E: l.smith@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4321

Directors' Secretary: Jackie Forsyth
E: j.forsyth@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4104

Peter Williamson
Director of Visitor Experience and Managing Director of NMS Enterprises

The Director of Visitor Experience is responsible for the day to day operational management of National Museums Scotland in relation to all services provided to the visitor.

E: p.williamson@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4365

Position Vacant
Director of Estates and Facilities

The Director of Estates and Facilities is responsible for the capital development programme, estates, facilities and ICT.

Directors' Secretary: Angela Whitehead
E: a.whitehead@nms.ac.uk T: 0131 247 4431

Disclosure of salary details

Names and salary details of members of the senior leadership team equivalent to Senior Civil Service (SCS) Grade 2 and above. Find out more about public sector pay in Scotland at the Scottish Government website.

 

Name Title Salary band Date 
Dr Christopher Breward Director £110,000 - £115,000 31 December 2020

 

You may be interested in

Back to top