The Director has overall responsibility for implementing the agreed strategic priorities and actions of the Board of Trustees of National Museums Scotland. The Director and Executive Team make up the top management tier of National Museums Scotland.

Director of National Museums Scotland

Dr Chris Breward

The Director has overall responsibility for implementing the policy and objectives of the Board of Trustees, and for leadership to staff and volunteers.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4260 / Email: c.breward@nms.ac.uk

Personal Assistant to Director and Office Manager: Wendy Hamilton

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4263 / Email: w.hamilton@nms.ac.uk

Director of Collections

Dr Xerxes Mazda

The Director of Collections is responsible for curatorial departments, research policy and programmes, collections management and conservation.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4415 / Email: x.mazda@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Evelyn Kochaj

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4150 / Email: e.kochaj@nms.ac.uk

Interim Director of Estates and Facilities

Clive Richardson

The Interim Director of Estates and Facilities is responsible for the capital development programme, estates, facilities and ICT.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4152 / Email: c.richardson@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Angela Whitehead

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4431 / Email: a.whitehead@nms.ac.uk

Director of Public Programmes

Ruth Gill

The Director of Public Programmes is responsible for content development and programming, which includes Exhibitions, Design, Displays, Technical Services and Learning & Programmes.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4295 / Email: r.gill@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Jackie Forsyth

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4104 / Email: j.forsyth@nms.ac.uk

Director of External Relations

Helen Ireland

The Director of External Relations is responsible for Marketing and Communications, Digital Media, Fundraising and our National and International Programmes.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4332 / Email: h.ireland@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Angela Whitehead 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4431 / Email: a.whitehead@nms.ac.uk

Director of Visitor Experience and Managing Director of NMS Enterprises

Peter Williamson

The Director of Visitor Experience is responsible for the day to day operational management of National Museums Scotland in relation to all services provided to the visitor. NMS Enterprises Limited, a company wholly owned by National Museums Scotland, manages hospitality and events, catering and retail at National Museums Scotland’s museums, and publishing and image licensing for National Museums Scotland. 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4365 / Email: p.williamson@nms.ac.uk

Interim Head of Human Resources

Lynn Smith

The Interim Head of Human Resources is responsible for HR corporate strategy, workplace planning and Organisational Development, Training and Development, Health and Safety, and Volunteers.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4321 / Email: l.smith@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Jackie Forsyth

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4104 / Email: j.forsyth@nms.ac.uk

Director of Finance and Planning

Keith Pentland

The Director of Finance and Planning is responsible for the Finance Department, Information Knowledge Management and the Corporate Policy & Performance Department. 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4290 / Email: k.pentland@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Netta Rough

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4343 / Email: n.rough@nms.ac.uk

Head of Corporate Policy and Performance

Julie Brown

The Head of Corporate Policy and Performance provides an integrated approach to policy development, planning and performance management and reporting across National Museums Scotland. This post also provides information for decision making to the Trustees, Director and ExecutiveTeam, and manages the day-to-day relationship with the Scottish Government. The Corporate Support Unit provides secretarial and administrative support to the Director, Executive Team and Head of Corporate Policy and Performance.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4272 / Email: j.brown@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Netta Rough 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4343 / Email: n.rough@nms.ac.uk

Back to top